Posted by: jsmcfadden | March 17, 2011

Every Day New Delights

Every day in the garden has new delights. Sometimes it’s the not even the flowers or plants. Sometimes it’s the birds. I started to really listen to the birds last April when I was home during the day. Instead of growing quiet as the day went on, I learned they continue to whistle and coo and click all day long. But I don’t have any pictures of the birds, and I do have wonderful new pictures of the … lilacs!!

 The promises are being fulfilled on these two bushes this year. Every branch tip has a nice bunch of sweet blossoms; some of the blossoms are opened, others are just buds still. Put your face near them, and the fragrance is sweet, but step back and it’s barely noticeable, not overpowering. After so many years of no blooms, these lilacs are such a delight! I find myself having to purposefully take my foot up off the accelerator and stay on the speed limit when I get close to our exit from the freeway: I want to get home and see the lilacs. We had such a sunny couple of days that I knew it was going to be good, and I could leave school early enough today for some good afternoon light.  Here they are again, and they’re so pretty and so many!!

I really like how the light plays on the leaves and the blossoms, but it was not easy to get my shadow out of the way. Then I kept breathing or something, and the camera would shift and I’d lose the shot.

But finally here are some pictures of the wonderful lilacs in our back yard. You can just barely see the “mellow yellow”, too, on the right. They were loaded with tiny white flowers about a month ago, changing the shape of the plant into almost a weeping willow form — the flowers were so heavy and full along the branches.

Ah, and I bet you’re wondering about the freesia. Well, here they are, filled out but still leaning on the rose bush.  It surprises me, and I really notice the shape of the flower delivery system on this stalk. It reminds me of a Dr. Seuss plant in one of his books, but I can’t place it, exactly.

And I know you want a close up of those delicate petals, and so here you are:

And isn’t the shading wonderful — the way the yellow brightens and deepens. The curve and spread of the petals is just gorgeous.

And don’t even get me started on the pink Breath of Heaven in the front. It’s beginning to look loaded, too.

Leave a Reply

Categories

