Posted by: jsmcfadden | December 21, 2009

Four and One Half.

Who could have resisted this four-year-old or this half-year-old?

Or, for that matter, this daddy?

Back in early 1986 we were getting ready to move from San Jose.  I figured we’d move a time or two more while the kids were still in school. I had lived in 4 houses while I was growing up, in Indiana, then Oregon, then back to Indiana; John had lived in the same house his whole childhood, until he went to college.  But I assumed that the way my kids would experience childhood would be the same way I had, not the way John had.  I’m hoping this is true of most young parents, and not just short-sighted on my part: don’t we all assume the way we grew up was the normal way?

We moved to Fairfield, spent a few months in a rental and then bought a house. And we still live in the same house. The kids grew up here; it’s this family room they picture when they imagine looking into Christmas stockings. It’s this neighborhood they think of when they recall learning to ride a bike.

Now, of course, they’re both living in different places and John and I are still here. Our Christmas Eve will be just the two of us. It’s been a long time since that was true — 1979 or 1980, I think. Time for some new traditions to begin, maybe?

Responses

  1. Christmas Eve may not be much of a crowd, “but what’s there is cherce.”


Leave a Reply

Categories

